Alabama currently has no specific board of barbering to regulate barber licensing state-wide, and has no laws specific to barber licensing. Barbers in Alabama are licensed on the county level. The information below about barber licensing in Alabama is from the Board of Cosmetology, which does not license barbers.
Please be patient as we try to reach the county boards of barbering. The information below is from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology.
Alabama Cosmetology License Requirements
1500 training hours at barber school
3000 hours apprenticeship in a barber shop
Alabama Barber (Cosmetologist) License Renewal
No continuing education is required for a standard practitioner’s license if you renew your license on time. If you have a Master license you must take 8 hours of continuing education, or if you have an Instructor’s license you must take 16 hours of continuing education. You must renew your barber license in Alabama every 2 years in odd years in your birthday month. If your license is expired for 3 or more years, you must re-take the practical exam. The cost to renew your barber license is $80 if renewed on time, or $130 if renewed late.
Alabama Barber (Cosmetologist) License Reciprocity
Alabama does accept reciprocity for out-of-state cosmetology or barber licenses. For some states the Alabama Board of Cosmetology requires that you are licensed for at least 5 years because the testing standards are different between each state. The board reviews each certification.
Barber Schools in Alabama
Alabama Board of Cosmetology