Currently all barber licensing in Georgia falls under the Georgia Board of Barbers.
Georgia Barber License Requirements
- Master Barber – 1500 Hours OR 3000 Hours Apprenticeship (18+ Months)
- Barber Instructor – Barber License + 750 Hours
Take the PSI-administered barber license examination, both written and practical sections.
Georgia Barber License Renewal
Georgia barber licenses must be renewed every 2 years on or before the license expiration date. Barber schools, barbershops and barber instructors’ licenses all expire on June 30 of odd-numbered years. Master Barber licenses expire on December 31 of even-numbered years. You may renew up to 6 weeks prior to the expiration date, either online, by mail or in person. If you don’t renew on time, your license goes into “lapsed-late” renewal status, and you are in violation of the law if you continue to practice.
Georgia Barber License Reciprocity or Transfer
Georgia’s State Board of Barbers allows licensure by endorsement, and accepts licensees from other states with similar licensing requirements who have no disciplinary action taken against his or her license. Georgia does not endorse licenses from AL, CA, DC, HI, NY, NV, OK or WA. Licensees for all other states will be considered on a case-by-case basis. You must provide verification of licensure from your original licensing state, and your license must be active when you submit your application for endorsement.
Barber Schools in Georgia
Georgia Board of Barbers
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858
Phone: (478) 207-2440
Fax: (877) 588-0446