Currently all barber licensing in Missouri falls under the Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners in Jefferson City.
Missouri Barber License Requirements
- Barber – 1000 Hours OR 2000 Hours Apprenticeship
- Barber Instructor – Barber License + State Instructor Exam
Missouri Barber License Renewal
All barber licenses in MO are renewed biennially, expiring on September 30, of each odd-numbered year. Missouri barber licenses and barber instructor licenses cost $30 to renew. Barber school licenses cost $500 to renew.
Missouri Barber License Reciprocity or Transfer
Applicants who wish to transfer a barber license to Missouri may do so through reciprocity if their home state requires equivalent or greater training hours to get licensed. You will need an affidavit from your home state’s licensing board verifying your training hours and current license in good standing. Reciprocity applicants must also pass an open-book Missouri state law exam.
Missouri Board of Registration of Barbers