Updated July 29, 2013
Currently all barber licensing in Rhode Island falls under the RI Board of Hairdressing and Barbering in Providence.
Barber School Licensing – Rhode Island
Presently, barber licensing in Rhode Island is regulated by the State of Rhode Island Department of Health and the Rhode Island Board of Barbering and Hairdressing.
Rhode Island Barber Licensing Requirements
According to the general laws of Rhode Island section 5-10-2, barbers and apprentice barbers must be licensed. Students will need a high school diploma or a GED and are required to be at least 18 years old. Students have to be lawfully eligible to work in the United States and complete 1,500 hours at an approved barber school. Students must also be of good moral character, complete a state application and pass a board exam.
Rhode Island Barber License Renewal
In order to renew a license, students must meet all the licensure requirements mentioned above. An application should be filed with the Board of Barbering and Hairdressing. This board will grant the renewal and the student will have to pay a fee. The barber’s license has to be renewed every two years.
Rhode Island Barber License Reciprocity or Transfer
Students that are licensed in another state can have license reciprocity or transfer to Rhode Island. However, the educational requirements must be the equivalent of Rhode Island’s. Students should submit their credentials to the Rhode Island Board of Barbering and Hairdressing
Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing & Barbering
3 Capitol Hill, Room 104
Providence, RI 02908-5097
Phone: (401) 222-2828
Fax: (401) 222-1272