Vermont Board of Barbering & Vermont Barber License

Vermont State FlagUpdated July 29, 2013

Currently all barber licensing in Vermont falls under the VT Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists in Montpelier.

Vermont Barber License Requirements

1,000 hours of study at an accredited barber school
Written and Practical Barber Examination
12 month apprenticeship

Exam Fee: $275
Re-Take Practical Exam: $140
Re-Take Theory Exam: $155

State Law Exam: $90

Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and have a GED or high school diploma.

Vermont Barber License Renewal

Barber licenses expire on September 30th of even numbered years. They must be renewed every other year.
If the license is not renewed, it can still be reinstated for up to 3 years.

Renewal Fee: $120
Reinstatement Fee: $145 for up to 30 days late
Reinstatement Fee after 30 days: $145 + $5 per day (maximum of $100)

Vermont Barber License Reciprocity or Endorsement

An out-of-state barber must have a current license from a state with “substantially equal” board requirements to VT. That is, 1,000 hours of professional training OR 24 months apprenticeship.

Three years of active practice or 2,000 documented hours of practice in one year or more will suffice if your home-state does not meet VT’s minimum requirements.

The barber must also complete Vermont’s laws and rules examination.

Endorsement Fee: $110.00
State Law Exam: $90


Office of Professional Regulation
1 National Life Bldg., North Floor 2
Montpelier, VT 05620-3402
Phone: (802) 828-1134
Fax: (802) 828-2465


View Larger Map